Founding conference Naples-Montecassino, October 28-30, 1993

Presidents: Natale G. De Santo, Garabed Eknoyan & Luigi Iorio

1st Congress: Kos, Greece, October 14-16, 1996

President: Spyros Marketos

2nd Congress, Padua, Italy, October 4-7, 1998

Presidents: Angela D’Angelo & Silvana Favaro

3rd Congress, Taormina, Italy, November 15-18, 2001

President: Guido Bellinghieri

4th Congress, Cassino, Italy, April 24-27, 2003

Presidents: Luigi Iorio and Natale G. De Santo

5th Congress, Gdask, Poland, April 13-13, 2005

President: Boleslaw Rutkowski

6th Congress, Taormina, Italy, October 4-6, 2008

President: Guido Bellinghieri

7th Congress, Torun, Poland, June 17-19, 2010

President: Boleslaw Rutkowski

8th Congress: Ancient Olympia-Patra, Greece,September 11-14, 2013

President: Athanasios Diamandopoulos

9th Congress, Milazzo, Italy, October 22-24, 2015

President: Biagio Ricciardi

10th Congress, Wieniec-Zdroj, Wloclawek, Poland, May 25-28, 2017

President: Janusz Ostrowski

  • President: Natale G. De Santo
  • President Elect: Garabed Eknoyan
  • Secretary: Shaul G. Massry
  • Councillors: Luciana  Angeletti, Carl W. Gottschalk, Klaus Hierholzer, Spyros Marketos, Hirotoshi Morii, Shaul M. Shasha
  • President: Garabed Eknoyan
  • President Elect: Shaul G. Massry
  • Secretary: Spyros Marketos
  • Councillors: Luciana Angeletti, Ayhanasios Diamandopouòs, Charles Geroge, Marc E. De Broe, Shual M. Shasha, Natale G. De Santo (Ex  officio)
  • President: Shaul Massry
  • President Elect: Spryros Marketos
  • Secretary, Ex-officio: Garabed Eknoyan
  • Councillors: Luciana Angeletti, Marc E. De Broe, Charles George, Athanasios Diamanodopoulos,  Shaul M. Shasha, Sandor Sonkody, Natale G. De Santo (Ex Officio)
  • President: Spyros Marketos
  • Vice President: Charles C. George
  • Secretary, Ex-officio: Garabed Eknoyan
  • Councillors: Marc E De Bro, Athanasios Diamandopoulos, Sandor Sonkodi, Eva Kinne Saffran,  Natale G. De Santo (Ex Officio), Shaul G. Massry (Ex officio)
  • President: Charles C. George
  • President Elect: Alain Touwaide
  • Secretary: Garabed Eknoyan
  • Councillors: Guido Bellinghieri, Stewart Cameron, Luigi Iorio, Rolf Kinne, Natale Gaspare De Santo (ex officio), Shaul G. Massry (ex officio)
  • President: Alain Touwaide
  • President Elect: Guido Bellinghieri
  • Past President: Charles C. George
  • Secretary: Garabed Eknoyan
  • Councillors: Boleslaw Rutkowski, J. Stewart Cameron, Rolf Kinne, Luigi Iorio, Natale G. De Santo (Ex officio), Shaul G. Massry (Ex officio)
  • President: Guido Bellinghieri
  • President Elect: Boleslaw Rutkowski
  • Past President: Alain Touwaide
  • Secretary: Garabed Eknoyan
  • Councillors: Lorenzo Calò, Athanasios Diamandopoulos, Sylvie Opatrna, Miroslaw J. Smogorzewski, Natale G. De Santo (Ex Officio), Shaul G. Massry (Ex officio)
  • President: Boleslaw Rutkowski
  • President Elect: Athanasios Diamandopoulos
  • Past President: Guido Bellinghieri
  • Secretary, Ex-officio: Garabed Eknoyan
  • Councillors: Lorenzo Calò, Sylvie Opatrna, Miroslaw Smogorzewski, Miroslav Mydlik
  • President: Athanasios Diamandopoulos
  • President Elect: Vincenzo Savica
  • Past President: Boleslaw Rutkowski
  • Secretary: Miroslaw Smogorzewski
  • Councillors: Ayse Balat, Myroslav Mydlik, Junusz Ostrowsky, Antonio Mezzogiorno, August Heidland, Natale G. De Santo (Ex officio)
  • President: Vincenzo Savica
  • President Elect: Janusz Ostrowsky
  • Past President: Athanasios Diamandopoulos
  • Secretary: Lorenzo Calò
  • Councillors: Ayse Balat, August Heidland, Antonio Mezzogiorno, Katarina Derzsiova, Marek Muszytowski, Natale G. De Santo (Ex officio)
  • President: Janusz Ostrowsky
  • President Elect: 
  • Past President: Vincenzo Savica
  • Secretary: Marek Muszytowski
  • Treasurer: Vincenzo Savica
  • Councillors: Acidumann Ahmet, Rutkowski Przemyslaw, Stefanidis Joannis, Katarina Derzsiova, Biagio Ricciardi, Natale G. De Santo (Ex officio)
  • President: Stefanidis Joannis
  • President Elect: Ayse Balat
  • Past President: Janusz Ostrowsky
  • Secretary: Maria Kalientzidou
  • Treasurer: Vincenzo Savica
  • Councillors: Acidumann Ahmet, Sylvie Opatrna *, Przemyslaw Rutkowski, Maria Kalientzidou, Vincenzo Savica, Biagio Ricciardi, Davide Viggiano, Natale G. De Santo (Ex officio)
  • President: Ayse Balat
  • President Elect: Davide Viggiano
  • Past President: Stefanidis Joannis
  • Secretary: Maria Kalientzidou
  • Treasurer: Vincenzo Savica
  • Councillors: Maria Kalientzidou, Katarina Derzsiova, Vincenzo Savica, Murat Aksu, Abdullah Yildiz, Mario Lamagna

* = deceased

Natale G. De Santo, Garabed Eknoyan and Shaul G. Massry
Natale G. De Santo, 1994-1996
Garabed Eknoyan, 1996-1998
Shaul G. Massry, 1998-2001
Spyros Marketos, 2001-2003
Charles C. George, 2003-2005
Alain Touwaide, 2005-2008
Guido Bellinghieri, 2008-2010
Boleslaw Rutkowski, 2010-2013
Athanasios Diamandopoulos, 2013-2015
Vincenzo Savica, 2015-2017
Janusz Ostrowsky, 2017-2019
Vice Presidents
  • Garabed Eknoyan, 1994-1996
  • Shaul G. Massry, 1996-1998
  • Spyros Marketos, 1998-2001
  • Charles C. George, 2001-2003
  • Alain Touwaide, 2003-2005
  • Guido Bellinghieri, 2005-2008
  • Boleslaw Rutkowski, 2008-2010
  • Athanasios Diamandopoulos, 2010-2013
  • Vincenzo Savica, 2013-2015
  • Janusz Ostrowsky, 2015-2017
  • …, 2017-2019
  • Shaul G. Massry, 1994-1998
  • Spyros Marketos, 1996-1998
  • Garabed Eknoyan, 1998-2001
  • Garabed Eknoyan, 2001-2003
  • Garabed Eknoyan, 2003-2005
  • Garabed Eknoyan, 2005-2008
  • Garabed Eknoyan, 2008-2010
  • Garabed Eknoyan, 2010-2013
  • Miroslaw Smogorzewski, 2013-2017
  • Lorenzo Calò, 2015-2017
  • Marek Muszytowski, 2017-2019

The International Association for the History of Nephrology(IAHN) and the Family KInne awarded the Evamaria Kinne-Saffran Lecture in History of Medicine at the Congresses of Taormina (2008), Torun (2010), and Patras-Ancient Olympia (2013.

Evamaria Kinne-Saffran (1941-2002) was a vivid supporter of the value of interdisciplinary bridges and a convincing advocate of the importance of the past in understanding the present and predicting the future.

The lecture, aimed to support scientists, nephrologists interested in History and historians interested in Nephrology alike, who had recently made a major contribution to the field of Nephrology.

  • WINNER 2008: A young and promising nephrologist practising at the M. Giannuzzi Hospital of Manduria, Taranto (Italy). He recently coauthored the book Mediterranean Cooking: Old Flavors Looking for Health. Gastronomical Pathways Applied to the Nephrology, Novapublishers, New York, 2007. His lecture was entitled: “Mediterranean Diet: a Matter of History, Tradition, Culture, and Health”.

    Dr. Luigi Vernaglione
  • WINNER 2010: a Consultant Nephrologist at the Renal Unit of St. Andrews General State Hospital in Patras, Greece, who has been researching the History of Nephrology for several years, and has presented papers on this topic in national and international conferences. He has published historical articles, in collaboration with his mentor, Dr. Athanasios Diamandopoulos. He delivered a lecture entitled: “On some exotic urine colours in Ancient and Byzantine Greek literature”.

    Pavlos C. Goudas
    Consultant Nephrologist
  • WINNER 2013: who, after receiving a doctorate of medicine from the Medical College of Wisconsin, attended a residency at the University of Rochester Medical Center in Rochester, NY., before accepting a fellowship in Genitourinary Surgical Pathology at Johns Hopkins University Hospital, Baltimore, MD, where she is currently based. She presented a lecture entitled: “Wine and Honey, the oldest of the medicines”.

    Jennifer Gordetsky